Council of Associates

Council Representatives

Each Regional Affiliate provides a member of the Council.

These FAPSA-Affiliated Associations are non-profit organisations dedicated to promoting and supporting philosophy in schools in their state, territory or regional area.

The Associations respond to local needs, providing services such as professional development for teachers, events of interest to the philosophy in schools community, teachers’ network meetings and relevant teaching resources.

Each Association is volunteer-driven and funded by membership subscriptions. Membership is open to educational institutions, teachers, students, academics, parents and interested citizens. Please contact your local Association directly if you wish to become a member.

Canberra Society of Philosophy for the Young (SOPHY)

Council Representative: Catherine Geraghty-Slavica


Hong Kong Uni Graduates Association Education Foundation

Council Representative- CM Mak


Philosophy in Schools Association of NSW (PiNS)

Council Representative: Dr Britta Jensen


Philosophy for Children – New Zealand (P4CNZ)

Council Representative: Dr Vanya Kovach



Queensland Association of Philosophy in Schools

Council Representative: Nathan Pickles

SA Philosophy in Education Association (SAPEA)

Council Representative:  Lorelei Siegloff


Singapore Association for Philosophy in Learning

Council Representative- Thomas Low



Association for Philosophy in Tasmanian Schools

Council Representative: Dr Tim Sprod

Victorian Association for Philosophy in Schools

Council Representative: Dr. Janette Poulton